Rwandan named EAC youngest business leader

Rwandan namedThe CEO of Rwanda Development Bank (BRD), Jack Kayonga, has emerged winner of the East Africa All Africa Business Leaders Awards (AABL) Youngest Business Leader 2012 for his outstanding achievements as the bank’s boss.

Kayonga was rewarded in a ceremony held at the Intercontinental Hotel, Nairobi, Kenya on August 23. Kayonga said that the achievement was a result of determination, which transformed the bank’s services, hence extending economic development amongst the Rwandans.

Kayonga said that he has been manning a tight ship which has its government mandate and priorities in economy intervention in key areas such as: agriculture and livestock, manufacturing industry, education and health care, energy and water among others.

The bank plans to inject Rwf160 billion into the Rwanda’s economy over 2010-2014 through lending from Rwf36.1 billion in 2009 to over 178 billion in 2014.

The investment is expected to create about 150, 000 jobs which will impact livelihoods of more than 1 million people.

The winners will later this year travel to Johannesburg, South Africa to attend the AABLA grand finale.

The East African Business Leaders Awards is an initiative by CNBC Africa and Forbes Africa with the aim of promoting excellence in leadership and outstanding business performance in Africa.

The AABL award is in five categories including: East Africa Business Leader of the Year, East Africa Business Woman of the Year, East Africa Young Business Leader of the Year, East Africa Entrepreneur of the Year and East Africa Lifetime Achievement Award.

The award acknowledges individuals who have demonstrated exemplary leadership in the business world. Others winner in other categories included: Jennifer N. Barassa CEO of Top Image Ltd won the Business Woman of the Year,   Dr. Manu Chandaria bagged the coveted Lifetime Achievement Award, while Vimal Shah of Bidco Oil and Dr. James Mwangi CEO of Equity Bank won the Entrepreneur of the Year Award and Business Leader of the Year award respectively

The previous winners of the 2011 AABLA included: Aliko Dangote and Standard Bank winning two awards each and retail pioneer, Raymond Ackerman who walked away with the Lifetime Achievement Award. James Mworia, CEO, Centum Investment was also a winner on the evening, walking away with the title of Young Africa Business Leader of the Year.


Share Button
Leave A Comment